Ogun inducts 60 principals, 5 zonal secretaries - SALIENT TIMES ONLINE

Ogun inducts 60 principals, 5 zonal secretaries

Share This
Ogun State has inducted 60 Principals and five Zonal Secretaries, with a charge on them to herald positive transformation in the education sector, initiated by Prince Dapo Abiodun led administration.

Speaking at the induction ceremony, with the theme, "Redefining School Leadership, Responsibilities for Improved Students Learning", held at Lisabi Grammar School, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, the Special Adviser to the Governor on Primary and Secondary Education, Mrs. Ronke Soyombo urged the newly inductees to be diligent and committed to improving standard of education in the State.

She added that Principals must create a disciplinary department, to address unruly tendencies exhibited by teachers and students, so that sanity could prevail in their schools, while urging them to promote enabling environment and provide regular leadership training for their staff.

In her welcome address, the Permanent Secretary, Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), Mrs. Mojisola Dosunmu informed that the Vice Principals being inducted as principals, were thoroughly screened, in accordance with the guidelines of the Commission.

Represented by the Director of Information, Mr. Kehinde Onasanya, Mrs. Dosunmu noted that Principals were expected to produce accurate and objective reports of their schools’ activities, saying Zonal Secretaries must also present monthly rendition of their zones to the Commission.

Speaking earlier, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education Science and Technology, Mrs. Abosede Ogunleye, implored all inductees to allow wisdom influence their actions for academic excellence to thrive in their schools.

In her goodwill message, the President Association of Nigeria Confederation of Principals, Dr.  Ayodele Womiloju, admonished them to always appear neat, as they assume new position of authority.

The event had in attendance, the Chairman House Committee on Education, Hon. Ademuyiwa Adeyemi, Special Adviser on Technical Education, Prof. Joseph Odemuyiwa, Chairman, Academic Staff Union of Secondary Schools (ASUSS) Comrade. Akeem Lasisi, among others.