PSC promotes AIG, CPs, DCPs, among 6,618 others - SALIENT TIMES ONLINE

PSC promotes AIG, CPs, DCPs, among 6,618 others

Share This

By Olubiyi Obasa

The Police Service Commission has approved the promotion of 6,618 Senior Police Officers.

The promotion exercise was one of the high points of the 8th Plenary Meeting of the Commission, which spanned a period of three weeks, ending July 1, 2020.

It was presided over by the Commission’s Chairman, retired Inspector General of Police Musiliu Smith.

One Assistant Inspector General of Police, Olushola Oyebade, currently at the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies, Jos, Plateau State, was promoted to the next rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police to represent the South West geopolitical zone.

Four Commissioners of Police, including one specialist, was promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police.

They are Aisha L. Abubakar, CP Veterinary Department; CP Asuquo A. A. Amba, former CP, Bayelsa State Command, Counter Terrorism and currently CP Ekiti State Command;  CP Nekereuwem A. Akpan, former CP Cross Rivers State Command; and Olafihan Adeniran Adeeoye, currently CP Anti Terrorism.

The Commission also approved the promotion of three Deputy Commissioners of Police to the next rank of substantive Commissioners of Police.

They are DCP Jonathan Towuru, Deputy Force Secretary; DCP Abiodun Alabi, National Defence College; and DCP Akande  Kayode of the State House (Presidential Villa).

Three Assistant Commissioners of Police: ACP. Adenola J. Oluwole, ACP Valentine Olumese and ACP Isa Jibril Grema, were promoted to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police.

Eight Superintendents of Police, including Omoruyi Godwin; Clifford Okwor, presently of Anambra State Command; and Uchendu Fransica Ngozi, Staff Officer Senior, also of Anambra State Command, were also promoted to the rank of Chief Superintendent of Police.

Six hundred and seven Deputy Superintendents of Police were also elevated to the rank of Superintendents of Police.

They include DSP. Markus Goyom, Ifeoma Chukwu Ozuruigbo, Elizabeth Olajimoke Olatunbosun, Mina Mosese Anderson of the Delta State Command and Mohammed Yakubu Ibrahim, Divisional Police Officer 9th Mile, Enugu State Command.

Others are Frank Omokhoje Longe, Delta State Command; Chukwudi Nwanze Simon; Ukadike Oyekachukwu Martins; Jemimah Okafor; Emeka Iheanacho, Police Public Relations Officer, Zone 5; and Ede John Chukwuemeka.

The Commission also promoted 206 Assistant Superintendents of Police to Deputy Superintendents, among which were Ignatius Ogoejbunam Atta, Mustapha Ali and Awe Vincent

It also promoted 5,786 Inspectors to Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP11).

Some of the new ASPs are Egbo Rosemary Obianujunwa, Operations, Delta State Command; Abdulahi Mohammed; Elvina Chukwu, Oyo State Command; Balogun Olushegun; Amaka Onwude, CPS, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State Command; Samuel Agu, Delta State Command; Joseph Seyinko; and Chinyere Mabeokwu of Enugu Area Command