APC's Abiru Wins Lagos East Senate Seat - SALIENT TIMES ONLINE

APC's Abiru Wins Lagos East Senate Seat

Share This
By Our Correspondent

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won Saturday’s senatorial bye-election in Lagos East district,

The bye-election was conducted on Saturday in the five local governments in the district and witnessed low voter turnout.

The party’ candidate Tokunbo Abiru was declared the winner in each of the five local governments in the area.

Abiru polled 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party, who scored 11,257 votes to emerge second.

The senatorial seat became vacant following the death of Senator Bayo Oshinowo earlier this year.

The INEC Returning Officer for the by-election, Prof. Ademola Oremosu of the University of Lagos, declared the result at the Somolu collation centre on Sunday.

He said out of the total registered voters of 1,261,673 in the district, the total accredited voters was 104, 894, the total vote cast was 104, 405, the total valid votes was 102, 336, while the rejected votes were 2,069.

Abiru defeated his opponent by a wide margin in all the five local government areas of Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu and Ikorodu in Lagos East senatorial district.

Candidates from 12 political parties contested in the Lagos East Senatorial bye-elections while eight candidates contested the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections.

Below are the results of the APC and PDP candidates in the senatorial election across the five LGAs:


APC: 17,728

PDP: 2,067


APC: 22,213

PDP: 1,826

Ibeju Lekki

APC: 16,336

PDP: 937


APC: 19,204

PDP: 3,766


APC: 13,723

PDP: 2,661