Abiodun receives APM lawmakers, charged them on loyalty - SALIENT TIMES ONLINE


Thursday, 28 January 2021

Abiodun receives APM lawmakers, charged them on loyalty

By Our Correspondent

Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has advised the seven members of the Allied Progressives Movement (APM) in the Ogun State House of Assembly who defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC, to be loyal to the party and work towards realising "the Building the Future Together" agenda of the State government.

Speaking while receiving the defected lawmakers, who were led to him by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Kunle Oluomo, on a courtesy call on him in his office at Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, Governor Abiodun stressed the need for all members to be loyal and contribute to the development of the State.

Abiodun who described the lawmakers move as "home coming", said, "it is a thing of joy to have a member of the family that had left home as a result of disagreement, to return home".

"You have not come back through coercion or by force. Remember you will be criticised for coming back. In line with our inclusive and participatory policy, we welcome you. You will recall that we have not discriminated against you in the past 18 months even while you were not with us. We will ensure you enjoy all benefits that our members enjoy", he promised.

The Governor expressed the hope that by welcoming back into the fold of the party, would not regret the inclusiveness policy of his administration, urging the defectors to work hard to strengthen the party in the State and the administration to deliver on its mandate to the people.

The Governor used the occasion to appreciate the entire members of the House, attributing the modest achievements recorded so far to the continued support of the lawmakers in the last one and a half years.

Presenting the seven lawmakers to the Governor, Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Oluomo, noted that the rejoining of the members symbolized the achievements of the administration in getting everyone on board.

"I am happy to inform you today that the members of our great partythe All Progressives Congress on the floor of the House has increased from 15 to 22. Today all the seven members of the All Progressives Movement (APM), in the House moved to the APC.

"This means that our great party is totally  and fully in charge of the State House of Assembly all due to your ability to manage the people of the State towards the entrenchment of progressive policies in the State", he noted.

In his remarks, the Senior Special Adviser to the Governor on Political Matters, Rt. Hon. Tunji Egbetokun, expressed the hope that the 22 members would translate 'into positive majority', that would add to the development of the State.

Speaking, one of the new members, and immediate past Minority Leader, Hon. Ganiyu Oyedeji, representing Ifo 2 State Constituency, said described his move as home coming, pledging continued support to the government as he has been doing even as an opposition member.

Hon. Musefiu Olatunji Lamidi in his remarks pledged significant contributions  to enable the people enjoy the benefits of the administration, while Honourables Latifat Ajayi, Adeniran Adeyinka and Yusuf Amosun, appreciated the Governor for his inclusive policy and promised to contribute their quotas to the socio-economic development of the State.