Obasanjo, Abiola, Mandela, others nominated for leadership awards - SALIENT TIMES ONLINE


Saturday, 14 August 2021

Obasanjo, Abiola, Mandela, others nominated for leadership awards

By Our Correspondent

Former president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, Ghana president, Nana Akuffo-Addo and Mahamad Ennaceur, former interim President of Tunisia have been nominated for the African leadership award.

Also nominated for Posthumous Elites Heroes are the first prime minister of Nigeria, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa, Jerry Rawlings and Desmond Tutu.

The Prestigious Elites organisation’s board announced this in a statement made available to journalists on Friday.

According to the statement signed by its Executive Chairman Uwakhemen Festus, on behalf of the governing council, the names were carefully selected through due process.

The statement disclosed further that the first award recipients will be inducted into the African Prestigious Elites Leaders Hall of Fame and Personality Award respectively.

It added that the nominated recipients approved by the organisation’s advisory board shall be inducted into the ‘AFRICA HIGHEST HONOR AWARD (AHHA)’ as nomination letters are being sent out to the recipients.

The statement listed the nominees for the African Prestigious Elite Leaders Hall of Fame category to include “a current President, His Excellency Nana Akuffo-Addo, President Republic of Ghana, elected Chair of ECOWAS, Authority of Heads of State and Government, former President of Nigeria, His Excellency, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo GCFR, Mahamad Ennaceur, former interim President of Tunisia, Adly Mahmoud Mansour, former President of Egypt, and Jose’ Mario Vaz, former President of Guinea-Bissau.

Also nominated for Posthumous Elites Heroes are Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, first prime minister of Nigeria; Nelson Mandela, former president of South Africa; Jerry Rawlings, First President of the 4th Republic of Ghana; Desmond Tutu, former Chairman of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission South Africa; Nnamdi Azikiwe, first President of Nigeria; John Atta Mills, former President of Ghana; Musa Yar’Adua, former president of Nigeria; Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola, also known as M.K.O Abiola, GCFR, and Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari, GCFR.

The Governing Council also nominated great African Entrepreneurs who have contributed their quota through job creation, innovations, manufacturing, and humanitarian support across Africa and for Africans.

It listed the nominees to be Inducted into the AFRICA HIGHEST HONOR AWARD (AHHA) as African Prestigious Elite Personality to include Abdul Samah Rabiu, BUA Group of Nigeria; Sir Sam Jonah, Helios Tower of Ghana; Innocent Chukwuma, Innoson Group of Nigeria and the first woman to be inducted into the Africa Highest Honour, Patricia Doku Diaby, Plot Enterprise Group of Ghana.

Others are Alhaji Abdulmunaf Yunusa Sarina, Azman Group of Nigeria; Herman Mashaba, Black like me of South Africa; Ayobamidele Momodu, known as Dele Momodu, Ovation of Nigeria; Ibrahim Michael Mahama, Dzata Cement of Ghana; Nduka Obaigbena, THISDAY Media Group of Nigeria and Patrice Motsepe, African Rainbow Minerals of South Africa and others