Ogun PDP primaries: Kenny Bello floors Reps Deputy Minority Whip, others

By Our Correspondent

Kenny Bello.              Attacker

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primary elections in Ogun State witnessed a major upset on Monday as the party's only member from the state in the House of Representatives, Hon. Adesegun Adekoya aka Attacker, lost his re-election bid for a third term. 

Adekoya, who is the PDP Deputy Minority Whip in the House of Representatives, was defeated in the contest for the party's ticket for Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency. 

Another aspirant, Hon. Kehinde Bello, won the party’s ticket in a keenly contested primary election held at Muslim Hall, Ijebu Imushin, Ijebu East Local Government Area. 

Bello, according to the results announced and signed by the Returning Officer, Ashiru Tunde, polled 58 votes. 

There were five contestants in the primary elections for the Ijebu North/Ijebu East/Ogun Waterside Federal Constituency ticket. 

In the official results, Tele Ogunjobi polled 38 votes; Sunday Adegbesan got 02 votes; Adesegun Adekoya had 01 vote while Adeyemi Duduyemi did not record any vote.

The primary election was scheduled for Sunday but due to logistics challenges, including late arrival of electoral materials and officials, the exercise could not hold and was rescheduled to Monday. 

Hon. Adekoya, who has been in the House of Representatives since 2015, was absent at the venue of the party's primary election. 

As at the time of this report on Monday evening, the Senatorial primaries of the party were ongoing.

Post a Comment